The Nun (Movie Review)

First off, I hate scary movies. I’m the type of individual that has to see any type of horror, scary, super suspenseful movie during the day time because if I watch one during the evening/night time, it’s over. I tend to really think about a movie after viewing it and these type’s of movies really get me thinking hence the reason I can only watch them during the day.

BUT, there’s a certain element to these movies that really keep making me come back to watching them.

The Conjuring is the first horror movie that really got me hooked and gave me the courage to really this genre of movies a chance. It’s safe to say that the Conjuring universe (movies) are my favorite group of horror movies. Both Conjuring 1 & 2 are in my Top 5 favorite horror/scary movies while Annabelle: Creation almost cracks into the list. Annabelle (1) unfortunately did not live up to the Conjuring universe expectations. We have now a new installation to the series with The Nun. While I did enjoy the movie, I feel that the execution for it could have been miles better.

Review (Spoilers):

The Nun, Annabelle: Creation, Annabelle, The Conjuring, The Conjuring 2

This is the timeline within the Conjuring Universe that The Nun falls into. As of now, it’s the first movie that really sets the whole story up. The movie does make references as to what presence it leaves in the future and it does it very well in that aspect.

The Nun revolves around Valak, demon we saw in Conjuring 2 as well as Annabelle: Creation. We dive halfway down into who Valak is and his intentions. That’s on of my gripes in the movie is that we really don’t get to experience Valak much. I hate to say but I feel like he was more menacing in the Conjuring 2 rather than The Nun.

We follow Father Burke (Priest), Sister Irene, and a man by the nickname of ‘Frenchie” who investigate the sudden suicide of a nun at a Monastery in Romania. I feel that the acting in this movie was pretty good. Not once did the acting take me out of the movie, everyone in the movie did great.  As well follow them more throughout the movie, it becomes more apparent that the nun did not commit suicide but was actually getting away from a deeper evil.

What I liked that the movie included was small amounts of humor. The majority of the humor flowed with the movie and never really took you out of the horror element of the movie except for one part. Thats more towards the movie where “Frenchie” talks back to Valak in what I think belongs more in a comedy action movie rather than a horror movie. Another section that I need to address is the cinematography of the landscape of where the movie takes place. I thought it was beautifully shot. There were shots that revolved around the Monastery and its surroundings.

The Nun seems to focus more on creating jump scares to get a reaction rather than build suspense and cause a true scare like it’s more popular predecessors in the Conjuring universe. We do get to see Valak in action but it is not how I was hoping he would be used.

Conclusion: 3/5

The Nun is considered to be “The darkest chapter in the Conjuring Universe”. I think The Conjuring deserves that title more so. The Nun seemed like a concept that would really bring a new character into the horror world but fell a bit short. With trying to rely on jump scares rather than trying to create suspense, slow at times and falling short from a great idea, it’s more of a movie that was made to create a story for a character that was very popular in different movie (Think like Minions and Despicable Me). Still, it was still a little enjoyable and a great time waster if you have a day off.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑