Why the love for cinema?

Going to the cinema (movie theater) is one of my favorite things to do when I have some free time. To be honest, it’s one of my FAVORITE things to do. Having that excitement feeling of seeing a new movie or even a movie that you just want to watch again in theaters because it was that good! Going to the concession stand to get some popcorn that it 10x’s better than boxed popcorn (I love all types of popcorn btw). Even going to the theater and being part of a movie theater that is almost full or even full and just experiencing a movie together, seeing other peoples reactions (When it’s a good crowd, not a bad one). Theres this feeling that I have for movie theaters and it’s not one that will change anytime soon.

I never really went to the movie theaters at all in the past years. Sure, I would go to the BIG movie’s that would come out during the summer or ones that interested me. That changed when company called MoviePass came by with a subscription service for movie theaters. For under $10 a month, you could watch unlimited movies every month at most major theater chains. It was a great deal! It sparked my love for going to the movie theater to watch new movies. It got a lot of attention and heard various of my coworkers and friends saying that they loved MoviePass as well. Oh, how things change.

Overtime, MoviePass started to dwindle. It was a service that was unsustainable and honestly, I really didn’t follow the company that well so I didn’t understand what was going on. I just saw that they started to limit the number of movies you could see, it was hard to get tickets during the times that you wanted for etc. I tried to hold on as much as I could. I still loved going to the movies but it was hard to enjoy going when it was hard to get tickets for movies that you actually wanted to watch.

A new hero arises! Little tidbit, I love superhero movies, especially Marvel movies. The new hero was from a comic book but from a major theater chain known as AMC. They released AMC A-List. For about $20 a month, you can watch 3 movies per week in that month only at AMC theaters.. It includes Dolby Cinema, IMAX, 3-D etc. It also has so much more but that’s the major aspects to the subscription service. I hopped on right away. It was a no brainer for me. Most Dolby Cinema/IMAX tickets around around $18 for a single ticket. Pay $18 for a single ticket or pay $2 more dollars for a service that can potentially allow you to see 12 movies in a month? Exactly, it’s been my go-to theater ever since. Don’t get me wrong I also love going to Regal and I wish they release a subscription service soon as well, especially that they just opened a Screen X experience hear in Seattle.

Subscription services aside, I love movies as well. Being able to enjoy a work of art for a few hours and let all your troubles out the door is a great feeling. To relax, enjoy some good snacks and to either laugh, get scared, cry or just feel certain emotions is what a movie theater experience does. The best part? Being able to analyze what you watched and create theories, think about the movie, see other peoples opinions etc is something that I find fun and enjoyable. Going to the movie theater is a hobby/experience that I will always advocate for and hope that in the future, improvements are done to improve movie goer experiences for others. It’s something that I will like doing for a long time.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑