LEGO Movie 2 (Movie Review)

I’m not really a collector of LEGO sets in general but I do have several sets that I have built. I’ve built a version of the Space Needle, have the set of the Big Bang Theory and lastly, various sets of the Avengers: Infinity War sets that were released prior to the movie. Even though I don’t have many, I’ve been a fan of them since a little kid and was excited when the first Lego Movie was released. I really was not expecting it to love it so much and see it get many great reviews for it. Does the second one capture the same fun and laughs as the first one?

Review (Spoilers): 

First, Chris Pratt did a great job again voicing Emmet and Rex Dangervest (Which I didn’t even know that he voiced both characters until the very end and that’s after the credits rolled after). Also, Tiffany Haddish as Queen Watevra Wa’Nabi made the character really pop out at a voice standpoint, really pushed the character more. It seemed that every character in the movie really had their presence known (plot wise) and added something to the movie rather than just being “side” characters. They really pushed Batman (Voiced by Will Arnett) in this one. I was surprised with him getting so much screen time and being the main character to marry the Queen. LEGO did a good job making him not just a funny character but adding some sort of “depth?” to the character with side jokes and such.

I’m a kid at heart so I was invested as soon as the movie started. I was thoroughly invited as it went along. I never wandered away from the movie because it kept moving along and grabbing your attention. How so? LEGO’s dang catchy music (One is even called “Catchy Song”). It’s hilarious/great as to how the music can make you understand the plot rather than just adding some random song in the middle of the movie that talks about a certain aspect. All the music choices in the movie were all so catchy and I loved them all, especially the end credits one. That one was a great addition.

For being a kids movie, it had a great message for both kids and adults. It can be interpreted differently by different people but the way I understood was; You can still do great things without ever “growing up” or growing older. Being an adult has its own meaning but you can still have that inner kid feeling while still being an adult, make sense? That does not mean that having that feeling gets in the way of doing what adults need to do. There is still stuff that needs to be done and responsible that we will all have. What Im trying to say is that, just because I still like LEGO’s, Marvel, DC, or even cartoons does not get in the way of the responsibilities that I know I have. 

Final Verdict: 9/10

The LEGO Movie 1 had that special feeling when I saw it in the theaters. #2 still had that same feeling but unlike the first one. It could be that sequel feeling that is had (“The sequel is not as good as the first one”) In the end, I liked them both and equal. The LEGO Movie 2 has the perfect mix of kid like humor while also being able to grasp adult attention and not just having to listen to their kid enjoy the movie while they sit there wanting to be home instead. Trust me, there is a lot of context in the movie that kids won’t understand but adults will be able to and get a good chuckle out of it. It’s a movie with catchy songs, funny jokes, a great story (a twist that got me) and best of all; IT’S LEGO’S! The LEGO Movie 2 is a beautiful done movie for both adults and kids. It’s amazing what the imagination can do when we use it to the fullest and it’s something we all have inside. If your a fan of the LEGO toys, it’s a movie that does service to it (again).

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑