Venom (Movie Review)

I have refrain from letting critic reviews get to me and base an opinion on a movie that I haven’t seen yet. When Rotten Tomatoes released the rating for Venom, it was a 26% and critics were all over this movie. I’ll admit, I didn’t think this movie was going to do well ratings wise as the trailers were coming out but I was still excited. So, when the reviews came out, I didn’t care. I enjoyedSuicide Squad but it currently holds 28% on Rotten Tomatoes. As for Venom, I liked it…. People like different things. We all have different opinions and at the end of the day, its what entertains us individually. 

I love superhero movies. All of them. Mostly, it’s the current era of them (Marvel Cinematic Universe, DC, Stand Alone, etc). That can also mean with characters that I’m not aware of. Venom is part of the Marvel Universe but I never really read comic books as a kid. I never really heard of Venom before the movie but I was intrigued by the trailers. As the trailers came out, the less likely the movie was going to be popular with critics but I watch movies to be entertained, not to heavily criticize.

Review (Spoilers):

Let me start off with that Tom Hardy (IMO) did a phenomanal job in this movie. He did a good job in bringing the Eddie Brock character to life throughout the movie. His mannerisms and his back and forth with Venom in his head, really got me to actually get into the movie. The other actors in this movie also did a good job; Riz Ahmed made Carlton Drake seemed like 20’s entrepreneur that would thrive during 2018 in the real world. Michelle Williams had some good moments in the movie especially when she had the small appearance as She-Venom. That was awesome moment. I will agree with most people saying the her character and Tom Hardy’s didn’t really have a believable relationship between the two. It could have been the chemistry between the two or just poor writing.

It’s a general superhero origin story. That’s not a bad thing but the 1st act of the movie was a little slow to go through. Which I understand, we have to know who Eddie Brock is. It doesn’t affect my rating but I wish there was more excitement during it or at least better story telling. As soon as Venom starts being in the movie then it starts to pick up. Again, the banter between Venom and Eddie Brock (Both played by Tom Hardy) is so good. I really enjoy the dynamic between the two and made the film enjoyable as it went on. The action is fast paced at well. Hard to see sometimes since some action sequences tend to be in the dark and the final fight between Riot and Venom was finished really fast in my opinion. Speaking of Riot, we don’t see much of him until the final part of the third act. I mean, we saw him in different human bodies but his true character seemed really menacing in the end. Wished we had seen more of that.

There were 2 (or 1 1/2) credit scenes. The first one teases the character Carnage coming into the sequel when were introduced to Cletus Kasady (Played by Woody Harrelson) in prison. The second after credit scene was about a 5 minute clip for Spiderman: Into the Spider-Verse. If the 5 minute clip is the same quality that the movie will bring, then we’re in for treat in December 2018.

Final Verdict: 7/10 

Venom is far from the proper film depiction that should have happened for the character. It’s not near perfect nor is it bad. It’s right in the middle. It’s an enjoyable comic movie that surely has future but will definitely have some changes coming. Ignore the critics, ignore the statements that this is a terrible movie. If you know who Venom is or simply just like seeing comic movie adaptions, give it a try. Then form an opinion, don’t listen to someone and then have that be yours. Venom has it’s quirks here and there but it’s critic rating is harsh. It’s a movie that you sit down and just enjoy the ride. Tom Hardy bring’s Venom in a way that is intriguing and really grasps you. It’s story is a little rough with some questions to ask after. Venom has a future for sure, I just hope it looks bright.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑